Celebrating the 50th Birthday of Columbia Maryland

Columbia Maryland is uniquely tied to the history of urban development in the United States as it is one of he most successful and celebrated examples of the New Town Movement and a model for sustainable and managed growth. It was founded in June of 1967 by visionary developer James Rouse who was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom. In bestowing the award in 1995, President Clinton said, “James Rouse has changed this country. And if more will follow his lead, we can do the entire job we need to do in our cities.”

Columbia 50th Birthday Celebration, Inc.

In 2013, the Columbia 50th Birthday Celebration, Inc. was formed as a 501C3 in order to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of Columbia, Maryland. This organization has a Board of Directors that is comprised of community leaders, senior-level individuals from Columbia’s major institutions.

The purpose of the organization is to:

Plan, promote, encourage and ultimately execute educational, cultural, environmental and celebratory activities and projects throughout Columbia in 2017 to celebrate the 50th birthday.
Educate the public regarding the founding, planning and development of Columbia in order to instill public pride and recognition of the successful, iconic and internationally acclaimed master planned community.

Board of Directors

Vic Broccolino, Chair

Melissa Mattey, Vice Chair
Howard Community College

Michelle Miller, President
Columbia Association

Nancy Smith , Treasurer

Barbara Kellner, Recording Secretary
Columbia Association Archives

Bridget Graham
Howard County Tourism

Jessica Feldmark
Howard County Government (Council)

Rob Goldman

Elizabeth Edsall Kromm
Howard County General Hospital

Barbara Lawson

Leonardo McClarty
Howard County Chamber of Commerce

Milton Matthews
Columbia Association

Jean Moon
Jean Moon & Associates

Barbara Nicklas
General Growth Properties/The Mall in Columbia

Harry Oken, MD

Dave Simmons
Columbia Festival of The Arts

Vanessa Rodriguez
Howard Hughes Corporation

Mary Schiller
Howard County Public School System

Kelli Shimabukuro
Howard County Library System

Beverly White-Seals
Community Foundation of Howard County

B. Diane Wilson
Howard County Executive’s Office